How Do I...? » Apply for a marriage license? » Marriage License Applications
Marriage License Applications
WHERE TO APPLY:
If you are planning to be married in New Jersey, state law requires that you apply in the town where the bride lives. If the bride does not live in New Jersey, then you apply in the town where the groom lives. If neither the bride nor the groom lives in New Jersey, then you apply in the town where the marriage ceremony is going to take place. If you are being married in another state, you must apply in the state where you plan to be married. New Jersey marriage licenses are not good for use in ceremonies that will be held on a boat or ship that is at sea.
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
The Registrar is located at 20 W. Prospect Street, Waldwick, New Jersey 07463. 201-445-7217
- Must make an appointment at least 24 hours prior
- Registrar Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm Monday - Thursday; 8:30am - 4:00pm Friday
WHO MUST COME TO APPLY:
- Bride and Groom - Both the bride and groom must appear in our office to apply for a marriage license.
- Witness - Only one witness, who is over 18 years of age, knows both bride and groom
WHAT TO BRING:
- Proof of identity such as your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
- Proof of residency – Driver’s license, utility bill, lease agreement, or tax bill
- Your social security card or social security number*
- A witness, 18 years of age or older
- Marriage Officiant Information – Applicants should have information about who is going to marry them, where, and when, which includes a mailing address and phone number for the officiant
- $28.00 application fee
- Social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential. Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
THREE (3) DAY WAITING PERIOD:
In New Jersey there is a mandatory three (3) day or 72 hours waiting period from the time that you apply for a license until you can pick it up for use. If you are planning to be married on a particular weekend, the latest that you can apply is the Tuesday before, in order to satisfy the three days (72 hours) by Friday, since we are NOT
open on the weekends for the release of marriage licenses.
Do not sign the marriage application prior to going to the Municipal Registrar. You must sign the application, while under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority
The application form must be completed in full with exact complete information. Names must be completely spelled out, including middle names, no initials. You may not sign the form until after you have taken the oath given by the Registrar at the Health Department. Click here
for the marriage application form.
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Call 201-445-7217